Saturday, April 20, 2019

Baguio City and Benguet to Experience 12-Hour Brownout on Tuesday (April 23)

Most of Baguio City and Benguet will experience a 12-hour brownout on Tuesday (April 23) according to a "notice of power interruption" released by the Benguet Electric Cooperative Inc. or BENECO. The cooperative announced the scheduled blackout on Wednesday (April 17).

The power interruption will affect the whole of Baguio City and Benguet with just a few exempted areas. The interruption will run from 6:00 am to 6:00 pm. However, BENECO clarified that the brownout was scheduled by the NGCP (National Grid Corporation of the Philippines) and not by BENECO itself.

The NGCP cited the following as the reasons for the scheduled power interruption:

1. Preventive maintenance and testing of the La Trinidad SS 300MVA Power Transformer No.1 and associated Feeders.

2. Corrective and preventive maintenance along La Trinidad-Sagada 69kV Line and La Trinidad-Sablan 69kV Line.

3. Correction of defects at La Trinidad Substation

4. Shifting of power source of Mankayan-Sagada 69kV Line Segment from La Trinidad-Mankayan(LI)/ Sagada 69kV Transmission Line to La Trinidad-Mankayan(L2)/ Lepanto 69kV Transmission Line in preparation for the implementation of re-routing works at Tower Nos. A & B along the La Trinidad-Mankayan 69kV Line. La Trinidad- Mankayan(L1)/Sagada 69KV Transmission Line will be de-energized from Tower No.74 to 139 only.

Areas affected by the scheduled power interruption are as follows:
1. Whole of Baguio City except Pacdal, Mines View Park, Gibraltar, Pucsusan, Lualhati Village, Outlook Drive, Lucnab, Country CLub Village, South Drive, parts of Cabinet Hill-Teachers Camp (near and along South Drive), Happy Hallow, DPS Compound, Greenwater Village, Military Cut-Off, Sta. Scholastica, Scout Barrio, Upper Dagsian, Lower Dagsian, Hillside, Gabriela Silang, Camp 7, Camp 8, Poliwes, San Vicente, Balsigan, Kias, Loakan Liwanag, Loakan Proper, Loakan Pidawan, Bubon, EPZA, Pinesville, PMA Fort Del Pilar, Atok Trail, Loakan Magsaysay, Loakan Apugan, Springhills, Kadaclan Village, VOA, DENR area.
2. Whole of La Trinidad except Beckel and parts of Ambiong near Lamut
3. Whole of Tuba except Camp 4, Camp 3, Camp 1, Twin Peaks, Tabaan Sur, Ansagan, along Kennon Road
4. Whole of Bakun except Kayapa
5. Whole of Bokod except parts of Ambuklao and Bobok Bisal
6. Whole of Kibungan except Tacadang
7. Whole of Atok, Buguias, Kabayan, Kapangan, Mankayan, Sablan, and Tublay