Tuesday, July 12, 2016

July 15 Declared As A Special Non-Working Holiday In The Cordillera Region

The Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR) will be celebrating its 29th foundation day this coming July 15 (Friday). In order to give the people of the region the chance to participate in ceremonies and events that observe the occasion, the Duterte administration has declared the date as a special non-working holiday for all six provinces in the region. Malacanang made the declaration through Proclamation No. 08 saying, "it is but fitting and proper that the people of CAR be given full opportunity to celebrate and participate in the occasion with appropriate ceremonies."

This year's celebrations carry the theme "CAR @ 29: Working Together For An Autonomous And Empowered Cordillera". The events kicked off with a media forum held last June 29 in Baguio City. A parade will be held in July 15 culminating with a program at the Baguio Convention Center. The Unity Gong Relay, which became a part of the annual celebrations, also started in July 9. The symbolic gong will travel from Baguio City, to Lagawe, Tabuk, Luna, Bangued, Bontoc, La Trinidad, and back to Baguio City. A ceremonial tree planting activity will be held at each stop.

The Cordillera Administrative Region was officially created on July 15, 1987 when then Philippine President Corazon Aquino issued Executive Order 220. The order separated Abra, Benguet and Mountain Province from the Ilocos region and Ifugao and Kalinga-Apayao from the Cagayan Valley to create a new administrative region. Kalinga-Apayao remained as one province until they were split in 1995 through the enactment of Republic Act No. 7878.

CAR now has 6 provinces, 2 cities, and 75 municipalities. The latest census (2010) put the region's population at 1,616,867.
Photo by Daniel Feliciano/The Cordilleran Sun